Art is Art is Art?

What is art?
Who am I to say? Who are you to say? How do we define art?

I’ve always been partial to art becomes art when a person classifies it as such. Maybe it’s not art to me, but if it’s art to you…then it’s art!

Internet art is a fascinating subculture that has developed as GUI interfaces have allowed humans to see and create images on screens. It’s easy to classify web-comics as art, as they are similar to analogue comics which have been seen as art longer than the internet has been around.

A mentor once explained art to me in a way that follows along with this meme. She described art in a similar way as I did above.artpromotivate

That comes to the next question that follows the purpose of this blog, which is: “Are memes art?” Well, I’ve heard multiple call them art, which gives me enough reason to justify that they are. This declaration raises tons of questions! The one that has been fresh on my mind lately has to do with copyright laws.

I overheard a conversation a few months ago about someone stealing a meme from them. I had never considered someone could own a meme. I normally assumed they were always reposted from somewhere, but now that there are jobs like influencers out there, stealing content whether a meme or otherwise could be costing people money or making people money illegally.brandgfx

That’s another question though, what are the gritty details of copyright laws? I suppose that’s a good subject for another blog post, after I have time to do some research.

 

As a side note: wordpress does not recognize “reposted” or “influencers” as spelled correctly, so I guess the world hasn’t caught up everywhere yet. 

Leave a comment